National Association of Athletics Administrations of Trinidad and Tobago

media_artricles :: 2017


St Fort poised for 2nd straight Youth award

Trinidad Guardian :: 26.01.2017

Sprinter Khalifa St Fort is set to walk away with her second straight First Citizens Sports Foundation "Junior Female Sportswoman of the Year" award when the 2016 edition of the awards function takes place in a gala-ceremony today at the Trinidad Hilton, Port-of-Spain from 7 pm.

Last year, swimmer Jerron Thompson and St Fort were voted as the top junior athletes of T&T for the 2015 season by both the T&T Olympic Committee (T&TOC) and the First Citizens Sports Foundation.

And so far this season, cyclist Nicholas Paul and St Fort, have captured the 2016 top junior accolades from T&TOC and are among the top nominees for their respective junior awards along with Thompson.

The American-born St Fort came into local spotlight in 2015 when she captured gold in the women 100m at the 2015 Pan American Junior Championships in Edmonton, Canada.

She also got silver in the 100m at the IAAF Youth Championships in Cali, Colombia and bronze with the women 4x100m relay team at the IAAF World Championships in Beijing, China.

Competing at the spanking new, National Cycling Centre, in Couva, Paul did not disappoint his home crowd at the Pan American Junior Track Cycling Championships.

Watched by an enthusiastic home crowd, Paul helped to lead the way with a gold medal in the men's sprint and silver medals in both the keirin and team sprint.

He also achieved national records in the flying 200 metres (10.172 seconds) and team sprint (46.526 seconds) during the past year. Overall, 45 athletes representing 26 sporting disciplines are up for the awards.

Full list of 2016 nominees

Tyriq Horsford (field athletics), Jenea Spinks (track), Khalifa St Fort (track), Nikhil Nanan (automobile sports), Reece Marcano (badminton), Jada Renales (badminton), Jordan Persad (basketball), Megan Rampersad (basketball), Josiah Clarke (canoe/kayak), Joshua Johnson (chess), Gabriella Johnson (chess), Kirstan Kallicharan (cricket), Nicholas Paul (cycling), Jaydon Prowell (football), Ke'die Johnson (football), Teague Marcano (hockey), Felici King (hockey), Sachin Kumar (golf), Serena Mackenzie (golf), Isaiah Hall (gymnastics), Luke Walker (judo), Keiden Joseph (karate),

Kate Gordon (karate), Kieron Samaroo (powerlifting), Graham Chin (sailing), Grace Ali (sailing), Nicholas Caddle (squash), Alexandria Yearwood (squash), Elton John (surfing), Jeron Thompson (swimming), Gabriela Donahue (swimming), Jeron Pantor (rugby), Aqiyla O'Brien (rugby), Aaron Wilson (table tennis), Brittany Joseph (table tennis),

Jean-Maurice Young (taekwondo), Chelsea Mofford (taekwondo), Orlando Radix (target archery), Shemariah Ali (target archery), Aidan Carter (tennis), Solange Skeene (tennis), Jean-Marc Granderson (triathlon), Lily Stauble (triathlon), Marlon Phillip (volleyball), Nicolette De Mille (volleyball).


St Fort poised for 2nd straight Youth award
Enlarge Image

Sprinter Kalifa St Fort

Guardian Media

Close Window