National Association of Athletics Administrations of Trinidad and Tobago

media_artricles :: 2017


Sprinter Ahye eyes maiden Sports award

Nigel Simon :: Trinidad Guardian :: 16.03.2017

Track and Field athletes, Michelle-Lee Ahye, Keshorn Walcott and Wilmana Akeem Stewart are the major contenders for the First Citizens Sports Foundation 2016 "Sportwoman of the Year" and "Sportsman of the Year" award to be presented 8 pm tonight at its annual national awards function at Queen's Hall, St Ann's. It will be broadcast live on CNC3.

The Carenage-born Ahye who will celebrate her 25th birthday on April 10, is a clear favourite among the 30 women nominated by 33 national federations to land the nation's top award and continue a dominant trend of wins for her sport of track and field as well.

Last year, shot putter, Cleopatra Borel secured a record record fifth "Sportswoman of the Year" award while quarter-miler Machel Cedenio was the "Sportsman of the Year" to complete yet another sweep for the National Association for Athletic Administrators (NAAA).

And based on performances from the top T&T athletes last year, another NAAA double could be on the cards, with Para-Olympian, Stewart, the main rival to their dominance, albeit based on performances from a field event as well.

Both Walcott and Ahye have already won the 2016 NAAA and T&T Olympic Committee awards for the "Sportsman of the Year" and "Sportswoman of the Year."

During the 2016 season, Ahye came into her own as the top women's sprinter in T&T when she reached three finals at the Rio de Janeiro Olympic Games in Brazil.

In Brazil, she placed sixth in the women's 100m sprint final, and also had a similar placing in the 200m women's final before she helped her team-mates to the women's 4x100 metres relay final—just the second appearance ever for T&T in this race, along with 1984—and an eventual fifth-place standing.

Apart from featuring in three finals during the IAAF Diamond League circuit—in Rome, Zurich and Birmingham, Ahye also twice established national records and personal-bests 7.09 seconds clockings in both the first round and semifinals of the 60 metres competition at the IAAF World Indoor Championships in Portland, Oregon, where she eventually finished fourth in the final in 7.11 seconds.

A "Dark Horse" among the women is para-athlete, sprinter Nyoshia Cain following some impressive displays mainly at last year's Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

The 22-year old earned the bronze medal in the women's T44 100 metres with a time of 13.10 seconds as she finished behind the Netherlands' Mariou Van Rhijn (13.02 secs) and Irmgard Bensusan of Germany (13.04 secs).

Cain had earlier placed second to Van Rhijn in her first round heat with a time of 13.32.

The performance capped off an outstanding season for the Laventille resident who captured T44 titles in both the 100m and 200m at the IPC Desert Challenge Games in Phoenix, Arizona, USA in May, with times of 13.15 and 27.69 seconds, respectively.

Cain also copped the 100m and 200m double at the JAAA All-Comers Meet in Kingston, Jamaica, the previous month. The Toco-born Walcott, the 2012 award winner was T&T's lone medal winner at the Rio Olympic Games when he got bronze in the men's javelin final with a throw of 85.38 metres behind Germany's Thomas Rohler (90.30m) and Julius Yego of Kenya (88.24) adding to his gold medal won at the 2012 London Olympic Games.

The 23-year old Walcott had earlier at the same Rio Games executed his best throw of the season of 88.68m during the first round of the competition.

During the season, Walcott also enjoyed another bronze-medal showing at the Bislett Games in the IAAF Diamond League meeting in Oslo, Norway, where he threw 86.35m to finish behind Germans Rohler (89.30m) and Johannes Vetter (87.11m).

At the T&TOC awards Stewart was awarded the Sports Personality of the Year honour while at the NAAA's function he along with fellow Para-Olympian, sprinter Nyoshia Cain were recognised on the evening for "Global Excellence."

However, the Tobago-based Stewart who has emerged as a new national hero could well spring a shock triumph tonight while Cain also bagged bronze at the world event in the Women's 100m (t43/44) in a personal best of 13.10 seconds.

Stewart's constant desire to win continues to drive him to lofty heights and the peaks don't go much beyond what he achieved at the 2016 Paralympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

The 24-year old from the Tobago community of Carnbee Village captured the gold medal in the men's F44 javelin with a world record of 57.32m for the F43 division that also falls within his slate while he actually broke the F43 world record twice during the competition, having earlier posted a mark of 57.23m.

He also claimed the silver medal in the F44 discus with a 61.72m throw that placed him behind David Blair (USA–64.11 m) and ahead of Dan Greaves (Great Britain–59.57 m).

Overall, there are 58 athletes (30 women/28 men) representing 33 local sporting associations who are in contention for the top individual awards along with being among the "Top Ten" awardees.

In addition, the Jeffrey Stollmeyer which is given to a National Governing Sports Body (Large) and (Small) that has outstandingly showcased initiatives, and made significant improvements in its administration and towards the development of its athletes will be presented along with the Lystra D Lewis award given at the discretion of the panel of the First Citizens Sports Foundation to an individual, team or group whose performance has impacted significantly on the national sport landscape.

First Citizens Sports Foundation 2016 nominees

Amateur Boxing:

Nigel Paul (men)

Automobile Sports:

Franklyn Boodram (men)/

Bridget Singh (women)

Badminton: Will Lee (men)/Jada Renales (women)

Bodybuilding: Dexter Simon (men)/Vanessa Hill (women)

Canoeing/Kayaking: Matthew Robinson (men)/

Felice Chow (women)

Chess: Kevin Cupid (men)/

Gabriella Johnson (women)

Cricket: Evin Lewis (men)/Merissa Aguilleira (women)

Cycling: Njisane Phillip (men)/Teniel Campbell (women)

Field Hockey: Kwase Emmanuel (men)/Petal Derry (women)

Football: Levi Garcia (men)/Kimika Forbes (women)

Golf: Sachin Kumar (men)/Monifa Sealy (women)


Marisa Dick (women)

Horse Racing:

Ronald Ali (men)

Judo: Christopher

George (men)/

Gabriella Wood (women)

Karate: Shiva Sookdeo (men)/Tamara Joseph (women)

Netball: Samantha Wallace (women)


Wilmana Akeem Stewart (men)/Nyoshia Cain (women)

Powerboat Racing:

Ross Garcia (men)

Powerlifting: Adrian Knox (men)/Lutchmi Sookram (women)

Rally: Stuart Johnson (men)

Rugby: Shakeel Dyte (men)/Aphhia Glasgow (women)

Sailing: Andrew Lewis (men)/Kelly-Ann Arrindell (women)

Shooting: Roger Daniel (men)/Savita Beatrice (women)

Squash: Kale Wilson (men)/Charlotte Knaggs (women)

Surfing: Jyiell Lewis (men)

Swimming: Dylan (men)/Cherelle Thompson (women)

Table Tennis:

Yuvraaj Dookram (men)/

Aleena Edwards (women)

Taekwondo: Khaidem

Neblett (men)/

Megan Lawrence (women)

Target Archery:

George Vire (men)

Tennis: Akiel Duke (men)/

Carlista Mohammed (women)

Track & Field:

Keshorn Walcott (men)/

Michelle-Lee Ahye (women)

Triathlon: Jason

Costelloe (men)/

Jenna Ross (women)


Daniel Williams (men)/Sinead Jack (women)


Sprinter Ahye eyes maiden Sports award
Enlarge Image

Michelle Lee Ahye

Guardian Media

Close Window