National Association of Athletics Administrations of Trinidad and Tobago

media_artricles :: 2017


Ahye doubles up with 200m title

Walter Alibey :: Trinidad Guardian :: 25.06.2017

Top T&T sprinter Michelle- Lee Ahye yesterday claimed victory in the 200 metres final to retain the double sprint titles (100 and 200 metres) she won last year at the NGC/Sagicor/NAAA National Championships at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo.

However, a new champion was crowned in the Men's half-lap event when Jereem Richards of Abilene cruised to win the gold medal after he clocked 20.15 seconds which qualified him for the world championships, despite a -1.0 head wind reading.

Emmanuel Callender who captured the 100 metres gold medal the night before, finished a distant fifth for the Memphis Pioneers club in a time of 20.65 which was an improvement on his 20.68 in the preliminaries, while Lalonde Gordon, the one-lap specialist was sixth in 20.66 running unattached.

Gordon finished second behind national record holder Machel Cedenio in the 400 metre final on Saturday in 45.27, while Renny Quow of Zenith of Tobago who was third, still failed to gain revenge on his lanky countryman by crossing the finish line in seventh position in the 200 metres test in 20.75 seconds.

Kyle Greaux, another Abilene runner stormed home for the runner-up spot and silver medal in 20.19 while Dan Nei Telesford completed a one-two-three for the Wildcats by copping the bronze in 20.50.

However, the day belonged to Ahye who was well expected to capture the 200 metre title and did not disappoint. She improved on a world championship standard of 23.00 in the prelims to toast at the end in a quick time of 22.50 seconds, well ahead of her closest rival Kayelle Clarke who returned a time of 22.97 which was slower than her 22.94 in her earlier race.

Semoy Hackette was third in another world championship standard of 23.07 for Zenith while Kamaria Durant was fourth for Simplex in 23.12 seconds. Ahye's time however, could not beat back her national and course record times of 22.25 and 22.33 times which she produced last year for her club Rebirth.

In the Men's 400 metres hurdles contest, Juander Santos of the Dominican Republic produced a World Championship standard time of 49.26 seconds to secure the gold medal ahead of Puerto Rico's Eric Alejandro, who ran a far slower race 49.90 seconds in the final that he ran in the earlier preliminaries, a time of 49.85 seconds. Still he was good enough for the silver medal on the day while Kern Alexis of the Memphis Pioneers was third in 50.52.

Jehue Gordon of Memphis Pioneers who holds both the national and course record of 47,69 and 48.75 respectively, was a non-factor in the race as he struggled to record an under-par 52.09 seconds for fifth place.

In the Women's race T&T's Sparkle Mc Knight was a cut above the rest, finishing the event in another world championship standard of 55.61 and well ahead of the field.

The Memphis Pioneers sprinter left dust in the face of second Janeil Bellille of the Abilene Wildcats, but could not better course record time of 56.66 that was set last year. This time however Bellille crossed the finish line in a time of 58.53 seconds while Lakeisha Warner of teh British Virgin Islands was third in 58.79 seconds.

Women's 200 metres

  • 1 Michelle-lee Ahye (Rebirth) 22.50 W
  • 2 Kayelle Clarke (PAP) 22.97 WC
  • 3 Semoy Hackett (Zenith) 23.07 WC

Men's 200 Metres

  • 1 Jereem Richards (Abilene) 20.15 WC
  • 2 Kyle Greaux (Abilene) 20.19 WC
  • 3 Dan Nei Telesdord (Abilene) 20.50

Men's 800 Metre Run

  • 1 Jamaal James (Abilene) 1:49.38
  • 2 Nicholas Landeau (Bankers AC) 1:49.56
  • 3 Daniel Gibbs (Mustangs) 1:51.74

Women's 800 Metre Run

  • 1 Alena Brooks (Memphis Pioneers) 2:05.44
  • 2 Jerisa James (Memphis Pioneers) 2:19.84
  • 3 Zita Vincent (St Vin & Gren) 2:20.77

Women's 400 Metre

  • 1 Spaerkle Mc Knight (Memphis Pioneers) 55.61 WC
  • 2 Janeil Bellille (Abilene) 58.53
  • 3 Lakeisha Warner (BVI) 58.79

Men's 400 Metre Hurdles

  • 1 Juander Santos (Dominican Republic) 49.26 WC
  • 2 Eric Alejandro (Puerto Rico) 49.90
  • 3 Kern Alexis (Memphis Pioneers) 50.52

Men's 100 Metre Dash Masters

  • 1 Philbert Ryce (T&T Defence Force) 11.26
  • 2 Norton St. Louis (T&T Defence Force) 11.33
  • 3 Joel Hamlet (PAP) 11.48


Ahye doubles up with 200m title
Enlarge Image

Winner of the men's Pole Vault competition, Herdis Hernandez of Toco

Guardian Media

Close Window