National Association of Athletics Administrations of Trinidad and Tobago

media_artricles :: 2017


Pereira, Chebwogen reign as TTARP 5K champs

Trinidad Guardian :: 24.10.2017

Collin Pereira made a sensational return from injury with victory at the TTARP's 5K Run/Walk on Sunday.

The course started in front of Providence Girls along Belmont Circular Road and took the field towards the Savannah in a clock-wards direction and back to the starting point.

Sixteen minutes later, it was Pereira, who crossed the finish line ahead of rival Curtis Cox, who eight second back, followed by another seasoned-campaigner Anthony Philip, who stopped the clock at 16:25 seconds with veterans Richard Jones in fourth place five seconds later.

Kriston Charles rounded off the top five among the men with a time of 16:35. Speaking to Guardian Media Sports after the race, Pereira said, "It was difficult being in my first race in four months. This race was really to see how fit I am for the race—UWI International Half Marathon—so it's more like a confidence booster."

Pereira is the defending National Half Marathon champion and he will aim to regain his title this weekend. He says his four-month break from the sport has been a frustrating one but now he is feeling better.

Among the women, Kenyan Mercy Chebwogen placed first in a time of 17 minutes and 55 seconds. Her season has been up and down as she placed 13th overall. After the race, she said, "The course was very hilly but I tried my best until the end of the race. I'm not satisfied with my time. My time in a 5K is usually 15 minutes, but today I ran 17 minutes, maybe because of the weather."

Celine Lestrade was a distant second among the women, finishing in a time of 19:36. Sjaelan Evans, who is bound for the Boston Marathon next year finished third in a time of 20:13. This was the final dress rehearsal for all the runners who will be seeking top honours at Sunday's UWI International Half Marathon.


1 Collin Jeron Pereira –16:00
2 Curtis Cox –16:08
3 Anthony Philip
4 Richard Jones
5 Kriston Charles –16:35
1 Mercy Chebwogen –17:55
2 Celine Lestrade –19:36
3 Sjaelan Evans –20:13
4 Janeil Bailey–20:56
5 Charlotte Potter –23:06


Pereira, Chebwogen reign as TTARP 5K champs
Enlarge Image

Guardian Media

Close Window