National Association of Athletics Administrations of Trinidad and Tobago

media_artricles :: 2018


Quow, Gordon top THA 2017 Sport Awards

Trinidad Guardian :: 15.04.2018

QUARTERMILERS Lalonde Gordon and Renny Quow were both named Sportsmen of the Year named on Thursday night when the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) held its 2017 Sport Awards ceremony at the Magdalena Grand Beach and Golf Resort in Lowlands, Tobago.

Quow, a past student of St Andrew's Anglican School and Scarborough Secondary School alumni became the first T&T athlete to win 400m gold at the IAAF World Junior Championships. In 2017, Quow helped T&T's men's 4x400 metres relay team reach the 4x400 relay final at the IAAF World Championship in Athletics in London. The team went on to win gold in national record time. He also won Best Male Athlete for the Americas from the Association of National Olympic Committees.

Gordon led the national 4x400 team to gold and a new national record in the event, a world leading 2:58.12, at the IAAF World Championships. He hauled in his opponent on the final straight to stop the USA record at six successive wins in the event and provide T&T's second medal at the Games.

+Another track outstanding athlete Asha James was named Sportswoman of the Year, for the second year in a row.

The diminutive athlete excels at track at field and football. In 2017, James represented T&T at the Commonwealth Beach Football Games in the Bahamas. She led the team to victory with five goals and one assist. She also excelled in the classroom and has earned a scholarship to Florida International University in the United States.

The THA Sport Award Ceremony is used as a platform to award outstanding contributions of Tobago athletes, sporting organisations and sport administrators. 


Para Athlete of the Year - Akeem Stewart (Track and Field)

Akeem is the first Tobagonian to strike gold at the Paralympic level. In 2017 he was impressive with the highlight being his gold medal and world record performance in the shot put at the World Para Athletics Championships where he threw the iron ball 19.08 meters. He also secured Javelin gold with a 97.61m effort.

Sporting Icon - Carlton Faustin (Golf)

Fondly known as 'Pro' by age 12, he was already a golf professional. In 1962, he played his first professional golf tournament. In 1995, he was made an honorary member of the British Professional Golfers' Association. He also taught golf at Mt Irvine Golf Club from 1972 until his retirement.

Coach of The Year - Wade Franklyn (Trach and Field)

The man behind two of Tobago's talented track and field stars, four-time Carifta javelin champ Tyriq Horsford and World Para gold medallist Akeem Stewart. In 2017 he coached his athletes to secure five medals (three gold, one silver, one bronze) at a dual meet in Barbados, and four medals at the Carifta Games.

Sporting Official - Anthony Goddard (Target Archery)

The youngest national outdoor target archery judge at nineteen, Anthony is an extremely hardworking, diligent young man. The only Tobago judge at the target lines at the National outdoor championship, he is studying medicine at the University of the West Indies.

Community Sport Programs/projects

Gentle Giants Foundation

Operating since 2011, the Gentle Giant Foundation hosted the Junior Holistic Development Programme to bridge the gap between youth in Tobago and their national, regional and international counterparts. The programme saw former national players and coaches volunteer their time to mentor and train youths on the principle that sport is a key element in the holistic development of young people.

Sports Administration - Tobago YMCA Aqua Warriors (Swimming)

Secondary school Male Athlete of the Year - Darron Tyreke Douglas

Male Student Athlete of the Year - Jahdaziel David

Primary School Male Athlete OF the Year - LeBron James

Female Student Athlete Of the Year - Janae De Gannes

Primary school female athlete of the Year - J'Eleisha Alexander

Secondary School female athlete of the Year - Kelelica George

Club of the Year - Zenith Athletic Club


Quow, Gordon top THA 2017 Sport Awards
Enlarge Image

Derron Douglas, Secondary School Male Athlete of the year, receives an award from Lyndell Hoyte-Sanchez, Technical Director of Sport.

Guardian Media

Close Window