National Association of Athletics Administrations of Trinidad and Tobago

media_artricles :: 2018



Rachael Thomspon-King ::
Keith Clement :: Trinidad Guardian :: 31.12.2018

On Saturday evening the T&T Olympic Committee (TTOC) paid tribute to the country's sportsmen and sportswoman who flown the red, white and black national colours on the regional and global stages with pride and dignity. Reigning Commonwealth Games sprint champions Michelle-Lee Ahye and Jereem Richards were named Sportswoman and Sportsman of the Year for 2018, at a black-tie event held at Hyatt Regency Hotel on Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain.

Dylan Carter, who won his first ever medal, a bronze at the recently concluded FINA World Short Course Swimming Championship in China was named - Sports Personality of the Year.

The popular People's choice award went to Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Games triple gold medallist, cyclist Nicholas Paul, while the Alexander B Chapman award was presented to former sports broadcaster Dave Andrew Lamy.

Another cyclist Teniel Campbell was handed the Future Is Female honour, while teenagers Kael Yorke (swimmer) and Shaniqua Bascombe (track athlete) were named - Junior Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year.

The event was attended by the President of the Republic of T&T Her Excellency Paula-Mae Weekes, the Minister of Sports - Shamfa Cudjoe and President of the T&TOC Brian Lewis, who gave the opening speech.


Enlarge Image

TTOC 2018 winners, from left, swimmer -Dylan Carter, sprinter-Shaniqua Bascombe, cyclists - Nicholas Paul and Teniel Campbell, with their awards for all of their exploits during the 2018 season. by NICOLE DRAYTON

Guardian Media

Close Window