National Association of Athletics Administrations of Trinidad and Tobago

naaatt :: media_artricles :: 2019


Ahye bags another indoor gold

Trinidad Guardian :: 06.01.2019

Fresh off of picking up the top individual men and women awards at the 24th annual T&T Olympic Committee awards last weekend, reigning track stars, Jereem "The Dream" Richards of Abilene and Michelle Lee-Ahye of Rebirth were expectedly named the 2018 National Amateur Athletics Association Senior Sportsman of the Year and Sportswoman of the Year winners 2018 at the Radisson Hotel, Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain, yesterday. 

Cougars Shaniqua Bascombe was voted as the Youth Girls Athlete of the Year while Zenith's Veayon Joseph and Avindale Smith of Abilene were jointly named as the Youth Boys Athlete of the Year, while Zenith duo, Talena Murray (girls) and Tyriq Horsford (boys) walked away with the Junior Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year honours. 

Just over a week ago directly opposite to where the duo walked away with the T&TOC's Sportsman and Sportswoman of the year at the Hyatt Regency Hotel.

The 24-year-old Point Fortin-born won gold at the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in Australia in the 200 metres with a time of 20.12 at the Carrara Stadium, while the 26-year-old, Ahye who has captured two straight T&TOC Sportswoman of the Year awards also sped to gold in the Commonwealth Games last April, in the women's 100 metres in 11.14 seconds, becoming the first local woman to win a gold medal at the Games.


Ahye bags another indoor gold
Enlarge Image

Jereem Richards receives the Athlete of the Year Award from Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs Shamfa Cudjoe while 1976 Olympic gold medallist Hasely Crawford looks on during the 2018 NAAA National Awards Ceremony held at Radisson Hotel, Wrightson Road, Port-of-Spain yesterday. - Anisto Alves

Guardian Media

Close Window