National Association of Athletics Administrations of Trinidad and Tobago

naaatt :: media_artricles :: 2019


Tobago stops PoS domination

Kelvin "N" :: Trinidad Guardian :: 25.05.2019

Kelvin 'N'

In front a big crowd headed by the Minister of Education Anthony Garcia, Minister in the Ministry of Education Dr Lovell Francis, Olympic gold medallist Hasely Crawford, National Association Athletics Association (NAAA) president Ephraim Serrette and Atlantic Sports Ambassador Merissa Aguilleira, Tobago stopped the domination of Port-of-Spain and Environs Education District at the Atlantic National Primary School Track and Field Championships.

On Wednesday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo, the team from the sister-isle registered a hard-fought success over the defending champion ending the day 13 points ahead as they registered their third lien in prestigious Championship Trophy. 

Tobago amassed a total of 447 points with Port-of-Spain and Environs recording 434.5 points. St George East Education District was third with 359 points. St Patrick (302), North East (290.50), Caroni (269), Victoria (258) and South East (177), filled the other spots respectively.

The day began in style for Port-of-Spain and Environs, whose champion marching school Morvant Anglican School gave Principal Theron Joseph his first win as Principal at the national level. The Port-of-Spain team clad in red and black won the March Past after finishing with 262 points, followed by Caroni (orange/black) with 251 points and Victoria (red/white) with 245 points. 

Education Minister Garcia spoke to the patrons while at the opening ceremony while Minister in the Ministry of Education Dr Francis opened the championship which began at 9.30 am, with music for the traditional parade being provided by the Police Service band.

Tobago, whose 90-member squad were confident of dethroning Port-of-Spain and Environs, got their wish as they performed with aplomb to edge the perennial champion. Tobago last the won the championship in 2009. 

The Tobago contingent were confident that the likes of Aneika Alexander, Antonio Toney, J'eleshai Alexander, Anderson Burns along with Nathaniel Charles and Makayla Cupid would bring Championship honours back to Tobago and they did not disappoint at the 57th renewal of the National Championship.

Honour Roll

Champion District

1 Tobago 447 pts; 2 Port of Spain 434; 3 St George East 359 

Champion athletes of games:

Girls: Jenique Mc Laren (North Eastern Education District) - 33 points

Boys: Imanni Mathew (North Eastern Education District) 30

Victrix Ludorum 

Under-9: Daija Reid (Tobago) - 26 points

U-11:Jenique Mc Laren (North Eastern) - 33 

U-13: Kaori Robley (Tobago)/Tenique Vincent (Caroni) - 20p

U-15: Amanda Daley (Caroni) - 23

Victor Ludorum 

U-9: Ajania Taylor (POS) - 20 

U-11: Savian Adams (POS) - 20

U-13: Imanni Mathews (North Eastern) - 30 

U-15: Jayquan Bernard (POS) - 22


Tobago stops PoS domination
Enlarge Image

Aprodite Leacock of South East crosses the line to win the Girls 1,500 metres ahead of Charlene Phillip of Port-of-Spain and Environs during the Atlantic National Primary School Track and Field Championships on Wednesday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Mucurapo.

Guardian Media

Close Window