Home : records : champions : history

Michelle Lee Ayhe Gold Women 100 Commonwealth Games Australia 2018
Men's 100m final, National Open Championships, Haseley Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain, June 2017

Trinidad & Tobago National Champions

NAAATT Championship History

From 1946 to 1962 championships were organized by the Amateur Athletic Association of Trinidad &Tobago (AAA of T&T) which had been founded on 16 June 1945.

In 1958 none were held because the AAA organized the British West Indies championships, while from 1963 to 1968 internal operational problems within the AAA prevented their organization.

In 1969 and 1970 championships were organized by the National Athletes Union (NAU), founded in 1967.

In 1971 the T&T National Amateur Athletic Association (NAAA) was constituted to replace the AAA of T&T as the national governing body, and it organized championships annually from 1972, except in 1990 when an attempted coup d`état caused their cancellation.

In 2008 the NAAA retained its initials, but altered its title to National Association of Athletics Administrations, eliminating amateur from its name, as the IAAF had done in 2007 (changing from International Amateur Athletic Association to International Association of Athletic Federations).