

## **Team TTO at IAAF World Junior Champs 2018**



Left to right: Kion Benjamin, Timothy Fredericks and Ako Hislop

Tampere, Finland will host the IAAF July 10th to 15th 2018 at the Tampere Stadium. Team TTO has done well at these Championships. In 1992, one of our country's better years, Ato Boldon won the 100m and 200m titles in Seoul, South Korea. This feat was the first ever double sprint champion in World Junior Championship history. Over the last nine championships we would have achieved six – Gold medals, two – Silver medals and seven – Bronze medals. Athletes such as Renny Quow, Janeil Bellelle, Keshorn Walcott, Machel Cedenio, Jehue Gordon, Jereem Richards and Khalifa St. Fort

would have made their marks at this Championships.

The 2018 contingent consists of potential podium finishers such as Tyriq Horsford and Telena Murray who are gold medalist at this year's CARIFTA Games and are currently positioned high in the world rankings. Timothy Fredericks is ranked high in the Men 200m with a time of 20.81 seconds not far off of the #1 ranked Christopher Taylor of the Jamaica with a time of 20.35 seconds.

Continued ...



The Team is lead by NAAATT Board member Dawn Washington as the team Manager and is expected to depart on the 7th July and return on the 19th July.



## IAAF World U20 Juniors 2018 Team TTO Tampere, Finland

Name	Event	Club
Boys		
Timothy Fredericks	100m, 200m, 4x100m Relay	Simplex
Tyrell Edwards	100m, 4x100m Relay	Toco Titans
Ako Hislop	200m, 4x100m Relay	Kaizen Panthers
Carlon Hosten	4x100m Relay	Abilene Wildcats
Kion Benjamin	4x100m Relay	Memphis Pioneers
David Pierce	4x100m Relay	Memphis Pioneers
Onal Mitchell	400m	Point Fortin New Jets
Tyriq Horsford	Javelin Throw	Zenith
Girls		
Akilah Lewis	100m	Concorde
Jenea Spinks	100m	Concorde
lantha Wright	200m	Mercury
Rae-Anne Serville	400m	Memphis Pioneers
Ianna Roach	Shot Put	Memphis Pioneers
Talena Murray	Javelin Throw	Zenith
Officials		
Dawn Washington	Team Manager	
Wade Franklyn	Throws Coach	
Eric Mccree	Sprints Coach	
Kelvin Nancoo	Sprints Coach	
Kurlin Smith	Team Medic	
Clint Mckenzie	Team Medic	

**END**